Skip to content

Writesonic Alternatives for AI Visibility in 2026: 9 Tools Priced and Compared

Writesonic's self-serve plans track three engines and keep the full Action Center for Enterprise. Here is what nine alternatives cost and cover, as of 29 October 2026.

Jimmy PalFounder, GTM 8020

13 min read

Writesonic started as an AI writing tool and now sells an AI search growth platform: daily tracking, AI articles, site audits and an Action Center. If you mainly bought it for GEO and AI visibility, the self-serve plans have limits worth checking before you renew. Below are nine alternatives with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page on 29 October 2026. We make Mentionova, one of the nine, so we say where it loses.

Comparing Writesonic alternatives? Run your five most valuable buyer prompts on six engines in a 14-day Mentionova trial, no card.

What are the key takeaways?

  • Writesonic's self-serve plans track three engines. Starter ($79 a month billed annually, $99 monthly), Basic and Growth cover ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. All 9 platforms, including Perplexity and Claude, are Enterprise only.
  • The Action Center is not on Starter or Basic. Growth ($399 annual, $499 monthly) gets a trial of 5 on-page and 5 off-page actions a month. The full Action Center is Enterprise.
  • The closest like-for-like swaps are Peec AI and Promptwatch, both $95 a month for 50 prompts tracked daily. Promptwatch lists all models on its entry plan; Peec lets you pick 3.
  • The cheapest way to keep tracking is Otterly at $29 a month for 15 prompts on four engines, or Rankscale's credit plans from $17 a month (billed yearly).
  • Mentionova costs more per prompt and runs weekly, not daily. Starter is $125 a month ($99 annual) for 25 prompts on 3 engines. It is a fit when you want gaps turned into scored briefs and CMS drafts, with six engines from the Scale plan.

What are the best Writesonic alternatives for AI visibility?

The strongest alternatives are Peec AI and Promptwatch for daily tracking at $95, Otterly and Rankscale for low budgets, SE Visible for prompt volume per dollar, AthenaHQ and Scrunch for broader platforms, Profound for enterprise, and Mentionova if you want briefs and drafts. Prices below were read on 29 October 2026.

Tool Entry price (as listed) Prompts on entry plan Engines on entry plan Cadence Trial Best for
Writesonic (baseline) $79/mo annual, $99 monthly 50 ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews Daily Free start, no card SEO, content and GEO in one tool
Peec AI $95/mo 50 3 chosen from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini, Naver AI Daily 7 days Clean daily tracking, unlimited seats
Promptwatch $95/mo 50 "Track all models" Daily 7 days Every engine on the entry plan
Otterly $29/mo 15 ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot Daily Free trial (per its FAQ) Lowest monthly price
SE Visible $89/mo, $71 annual 75 ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode Daily 10 days Most prompts for under $100
Rankscale $17/mo (yearly only); Pro $99, $84 annual Credit-based 17+ engines Hourly to monthly Pro free trial Pay-per-answer flexibility
AthenaHQ Free tier; Starter $295/mo Unlimited prompts, 3,600 responses 11 models Not stated Free Essential tier Many engines plus actions
Scrunch $250/mo 125 ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Copilot Not stated Not on pricing page Site audits and bot traffic
Profound Free 7-day trial, then custom 50 (trial) ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews (trial) Daily 7 days Enterprise programs
Mentionova $125/mo, $99 annual 25 ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google Weekly, fortnightly or monthly 14 days, no card, 6 engines Gaps turned into briefs and CMS drafts

"Engines on entry plan" means what the cheapest paid plan includes, not everything the vendor can track. Several tools add engines on higher plans or as paid add-ons.

Why do teams look for a Writesonic alternative?

Teams usually leave Writesonic's GEO product for one of three reasons: engine coverage, because Perplexity and Claude sit on Enterprise only; the action layer, because the Action Center is Enterprise or a Growth trial; or scope, because they want a tracker, not a writing suite. Each reason points to a different alternative.

  1. Engines. Every self-serve plan tracks ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Writesonic's own FAQ says Enterprise tracks all 9 platforms, including Perplexity, Claude, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, Google AI Mode and Muse Spark. If your buyers use Perplexity or Claude, you need Enterprise or a different tool.
  2. Acting on the data. Writesonic's pitch is "track it, fix it, measure it". On Starter and Basic, the Action Center shows as "available on Enterprise". Growth gets 5 on-page and 5 off-page actions a month as a trial. Agentic workflows are "limited access" with 10, 50 or 100 trial runs.
  3. Scope. Writesonic bundles AI articles (15, 25 or 50 a month), site audits and ads monitoring. If you already have a writing workflow, you pay for features you will not use.

There is also a smaller detail on Starter: the pricing page lists "50 prompts, 50 answers tracked daily", while Basic lists 100 prompts and 300 answers. The page does not explain the Starter ratio, so ask Writesonic how many engines each Starter prompt runs on.

What does Writesonic include on each plan?

Writesonic sells four plans: Starter, Basic and Growth with published prices, and a custom Enterprise plan. Annual billing saves 20%. Self-serve plans all track the same three engines daily; the differences are prompt counts, articles, audits, users and access to the Action Center. These figures were read on 29 October 2026.

Writesonic plan Monthly Annual (per month) Prompts / daily answers Articles a month Users / projects Action Center
Starter $99 $79 50 / 50 15 1 / 1 Not included
Basic $249 $199 100 / 300 25 2 / 1 Not included
Growth $499 $399 200 / 600 50 3 / 2 Trial: 5 on-page + 5 off-page a month
Enterprise Custom Custom Custom Custom Custom Full

Sentiment analysis starts on Growth. SSO, SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA are listed on Enterprise. The pricing FAQ says you can start without a credit card and offers a 7-day, no-questions-asked refund. Mentionova's side-by-side, with feature detail checked on 10 October 2026, is on Mentionova vs Writesonic.

Which Writesonic alternatives fit which use case?

Match the alternative to the gap you are leaving with. For more engines, look at Promptwatch, AthenaHQ or Rankscale. For a cheaper tracker, Otterly or SE Visible. For a like-for-like daily tracker, Peec AI. For gaps turned into briefs and drafts, Mentionova. For enterprise procurement, Profound or Scrunch.

Is Peec AI the closest like-for-like swap?

Peec AI's Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts tracked daily on 3 active models, which you choose from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI. Peec calculates that as 4,500 AI answers a month. Users and competitors are unlimited on every plan, and MCP is included, though the API starts on Pro ($245, 150 prompts). Perplexity and the API-model list (Claude, Grok, DeepSeek and others) are on Enterprise. Peec also lists gap analysis, recommended actions and agent actions on every plan. Our full list is in Peec AI alternatives.

Is Promptwatch the best pick for every engine on the entry plan?

Promptwatch's Essential plan is $95 a month for 1 project, 50 prompts and 6,000 responses, and it says "Track all models" on every tier. Its model list includes ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Copilot, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, DeepSeek and Mistral. MCP and API access are on every plan. Content writing and refresh start on Professional ($245, 150 prompts). There is a 7-day free trial.

Is Otterly the cheapest way to keep tracking?

Otterly Lite is $29 a month for 15 prompts on four engines: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, tracked daily, with unlimited team members. Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are paid add-ons. Standard ($189) raises you to 100 prompts and adds optimization recommendations and MCP; Premium is $489 for 400 prompts. Otterly does not write articles. See Otterly alternatives if you are weighing it.

Is SE Visible better if you need more prompts per dollar?

SE Visible, from SE Ranking, is $89 a month ($71 billed annually) for 75 prompts, 5 projects, unlimited seats, daily tracking, API and MCP. Its plan table shows ChatGPT, AI Overviews and AI Mode, collected by scraping the user interface, and its FAQ also names Gemini. Core is $189 ($151 annual) for 200 prompts. There is a 10-day free trial.

Is Rankscale right for pay-as-you-go tracking?

Rankscale sells credits, not prompts. Essentials is $17 a month on a yearly plan for 120 credits (up to 480 answers); Pro is $99 monthly or $84 annual for 1,200 credits (up to 4,800 answers). A query typically costs 0.25 credits per engine per prompt, across 17+ engines, scheduled hourly to monthly. White-label dashboards start on Growth ($385).

Is AthenaHQ worth $295 for more engines and actions?

AthenaHQ has a free Essential tier with 300 credits, then Starter at $295 a month for 3,600 credits, where 1 credit is 1 AI response. Starter lists 11 models, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, with unlimited prompts, on-page and off-page actions and a content optimization agent. API access is a paid add-on.

Is Scrunch a fit for site audits and bot traffic?

Scrunch Core is $250 a month for 125 prompts, 5,000 responses, 5 site audits and 5 user licenses across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot. It includes AI agent and bot traffic, sentiment and one page optimization a month. Nine models, API access and its Agent Experience Platform are on Enterprise.

Is Profound an option without a sales call?

Only as a trial. Profound's pricing page lists a free 7-day trial with 50 recommended prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews; trial users cannot customize prompts. Ongoing tracking, up to 9 engines and custom prompts are on Enterprise at a custom price.

Where does Mentionova fit as a Writesonic alternative?

Mentionova Starter is $125 a month ($99 annual) for 25 prompts on ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google, with 100 agentic tasks. Scale ($400, or $320 annual) covers 100 prompts on six engines, adding Claude, Gemini and Reddit. Opportunities are rescored nightly on a 0 to 100 scale, each with a brief, and drafts go to WordPress, Webflow, Ghost, Sanity or a webhook. Nothing publishes without you.

What is the most affordable Writesonic alternative for small businesses?

Otterly is the cheapest paid plan at $29 a month for 15 prompts on four engines. Rankscale is cheaper still at $17 a month, but only on a yearly plan with 120 credits. SE Visible gives the most prompts under $100. Price per tracked prompt, calculated from list prices, ranges from $1.19 to $5.00.

Tool Entry plan, monthly billing Prompts Price per prompt (calculated)
SE Visible Basic $89 75 $1.19
Peec AI Starter $95 50 $1.90
Promptwatch Essential $95 50 $1.90
Otterly Lite $29 15 $1.93
Writesonic Starter $99 50 $1.98
Mentionova Starter $125 25 $5.00

Price per prompt is a blunt number. It ignores how many engines each prompt runs on, how often it runs and what you get beyond tracking. Mentionova is the most expensive per prompt here and runs weekly; it is priced for the work after tracking, not for more answers. For every platform's price in one table, see AI visibility tool pricing in 2026.

Should you choose a tracker or an all-in-one platform?

Choose a tracker if the output is a report someone else acts on: Otterly, Peec AI, SE Visible and Rankscale do this well and cheaply. Choose a platform if you want gaps turned into work: Writesonic, AthenaHQ, Promptwatch's higher tiers and Mentionova all brief or draft content. Then check which engines your buyers actually use.

A quick decision path:

  1. You only need numbers for a monthly report. Otterly ($29) or SE Visible ($89). Both track daily.
  2. You need daily tracking with unlimited seats. Peec AI ($95).
  3. You need Perplexity and Claude without Enterprise pricing. Promptwatch ($95, all models), AthenaHQ ($295, 11 models) or Mentionova Scale ($400, six engines including Reddit).
  4. You want SEO and AI data in one suite. Stay on Writesonic, or read Semrush AI Toolkit vs Ahrefs Brand Radar vs a dedicated platform.
  5. You want each gap scored, briefed and drafted into your CMS. Mentionova, or Writesonic Enterprise for the full Action Center.

Test it on your own prompts: 14 days, no card, all six engines. Keep Writesonic running and compare.

Where does Mentionova lose to Writesonic?

Mentionova loses on run frequency, prompts per dollar, Google AI surfaces and agency depth. Writesonic tracks daily; Mentionova runs weekly, fortnightly or monthly. Writesonic Starter has 50 prompts against Mentionova's 25. Writesonic tracks AI Overviews on a schedule and offers white-label on your own domain. Know these before you trial it.

  • Cadence. Mentionova does not offer daily runs. Scans refresh weekly by default. Opportunities are rescored nightly, but prompts are not rerun nightly.
  • Prompts per dollar. Writesonic Starter is $99 monthly for 50 prompts; Mentionova Starter is $125 for 25.
  • AI Overviews and AI Mode. Mentionova's Google engine records the organic top ten; AI Overviews are pulled on demand, not tracked on a schedule. AI Mode, Copilot and Grok are not tracked.
  • Starter engines. Starter covers ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google. Claude, Gemini and Reddit need Scale.
  • No prompt-volume data and no crawler logs. Writesonic publishes predicted prompt volume and AI bot analytics. Mentionova attributes AI traffic to pages but does not ingest crawler logs.
  • Agency and compliance depth. Writesonic lists white-label on your own domain, pre-built SOWs and, on Enterprise, SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA.

If daily data or AI Overviews tracking is the requirement, pick Writesonic, Peec AI or Promptwatch instead.

How do you switch from Writesonic without losing your baseline?

Export your prompt list and current visibility data first, then run the same prompts in the new tool for at least two weeks before you cancel. AI answers vary from run to run, so a single week of overlap tells you little. Compare mention rate per engine and the sources cited, not the headline score.

  1. Export. Writesonic lists PDF, CSV and shareable reports. Save your prompts, scores and cited sources.
  2. Keep the prompts identical. Paste the same list into the new tool. Mentionova's API and MCP server can create prompts in bulk; the trial covers 5.
  3. Overlap for 14 days. Writesonic's 7-day refund window is shorter, so plan the overlap around your renewal date.
  4. Compare like with like. Writesonic's self-serve engines are ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews. Compare only the engines both tools track.
  5. Judge the action, not the chart. For your biggest gap, time how long each tool takes to get you to a page update, a source to pitch or a draft.

For building the prompt list, use the method in How to check if ChatGPT mentions your brand.

Where does each number come from?

All vendor pages were read on 29 October 2026 unless noted.

  • Writesonic: writesonic.com/pricing (plans, monthly and annual prices, engines, prompts, Action Center, users, FAQ on the 9 Enterprise platforms, no-card start, 7-day refund).
  • Peec AI: peec.ai/pricing; peec.ai/geo-report (7-day trial). Promptwatch: promptwatch.com/pricing (monthly prices shown). Otterly: otterly.ai/pricing. SE Visible: visible.seranking.com/pricing. Rankscale: rankscale.ai/pricing. AthenaHQ: athenahq.ai/pricing. Scrunch: scrunch.com/pricing. Profound: tryprofound.com/pricing.
  • Mentionova: mentionova.com/pricing and mentionova.com/docs/billing/plans-overview, read 29 October 2026; feature detail from mentionova.com/compare/writesonic, checked 10 October 2026.
  • Price per prompt is our arithmetic from list prices on monthly billing.

What do people ask about Writesonic alternatives?

Is Writesonic good for AI visibility tracking?

It tracks ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews daily on every self-serve plan, from $79 a month billed annually. It is a strong fit if you also want AI articles and site audits in the same tool. It is weaker if you need Perplexity or Claude, which are Enterprise only.

How much does Writesonic cost?

Starter is $99 monthly or $79 billed annually, Basic is $249 or $199, and Growth is $499 or $399. Enterprise is custom. Prices were read from writesonic.com/pricing on 29 October 2026.

Does Writesonic track Perplexity and Claude?

Only on Enterprise. Starter, Basic and Growth track ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Writesonic's FAQ says Enterprise adds Perplexity, Claude, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, Google AI Mode and Muse Spark, for 9 platforms in total.

What is the cheapest Writesonic alternative?

Otterly Lite at $29 a month for 15 prompts on four engines is the cheapest monthly plan we found. Rankscale Essentials is $17 a month but only on a yearly plan. AthenaHQ has a free tier with 300 credits.

Is there a free Writesonic alternative?

AthenaHQ's Essential tier is free with 300 credits. Profound offers a free 7-day trial with fixed prompts. Mentionova's 14-day trial needs no card and covers 5 prompts on all six engines. Ahrefs and Semrush also run free one-off AI visibility checkers.

Which Writesonic alternative tracks the most AI engines?

On entry plans, Rankscale lists 17+ engines, AthenaHQ Starter lists 11 models and Promptwatch says it tracks all models. Writesonic reaches 9 platforms on Enterprise. Engine count matters less than whether the engines your buyers use are covered.

Can I move my Writesonic prompts to another tool?

Yes. Export your prompt list from Writesonic and import it into the new tool. Most alternatives here support bulk import. Run both tools on the same prompts for two weeks before cancelling, because single runs vary.

Is Mentionova better than Writesonic?

It depends on the job. Writesonic wins on daily tracking, prompts per dollar, AI Overviews and white-label depth. Mentionova wins if you want six engines including Reddit below Enterprise pricing, and every gap scored with a brief and a CMS draft.

Run the same prompts side by side. Start the 14-day Mentionova trial, no card.

100+ agents on call · 24×7

Put the agentsto work.

100+ growth agents run your competitor research, watch six answer engines, write content briefs and build the reports — around the clock. You keep final approval.