LLMrefs sells one plan: $79 a month, marked "limited time only", for 500 tracked prompts on every major AI engine, with unlimited projects, unlimited team members, CSV export and API access. Per prompt, that is the lowest price in the category. Teams still look for an LLMrefs alternative, usually because the data refreshes weekly, because LLMrefs tracks keywords and generates the prompts for you, or because they want the gaps turned into work. Below are ten alternatives, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page on 1 November 2026. We make Mentionova, the first tool on the list, so we say plainly where it loses.
What are the key takeaways?
- LLMrefs is $79 a month for 500 prompts on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok, Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek, with a 7-day free trial. Reports refresh weekly.
- No alternative here beats LLMrefs on price per prompt. At $0.16 a prompt it is cheaper than every other published plan by a wide margin.
- For daily data, Peec AI and Promptwatch start at $95 for 50 prompts, Otterly at $29 for 15, and SE Visible at $89 for 75.
- Ahrefs and Semrush both bundle AI prompt tracking into SEO suites. Ahrefs Lite ($129) includes 5 daily prompts; Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit is $99 for 25 prompts with no free trial.
- Mentionova costs more per prompt and has fewer seats. Starter is $125 a month ($99 annual) for 25 prompts on three engines with 3 seats. It fits teams that want scored opportunities with briefs, drafts sent to their CMS and Reddit threads in one place.
What are the best LLMrefs alternatives for AI visibility tracking?
The strongest alternatives are Mentionova for briefs, drafts and Reddit, Peec AI and Promptwatch for daily tracking at $95, Otterly for the smallest bill, SE Visible for client access, Rankscale for credit flexibility, Ahrefs and Semrush for suite users, and Scrunch, AthenaHQ and Profound for larger programs. All prices were read on 1 November 2026.
| Tool | Entry price (as listed) | Prompts on entry plan | Engines on entry plan | Cadence | Trial (as listed) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LLMrefs (baseline) | $79/mo, "limited time only" | 500 | All major engines, no extra fees | Weekly reports | 7 days | Keyword-led tracking at volume |
| Mentionova | $125/mo, $99 annual | 25 | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google | Weekly, every two weeks or monthly; daily through the API | Free trial, no card | Opportunities with briefs, CMS drafts, Reddit |
| Peec AI | $95/mo | 50 | 3 chosen from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini, Naver AI | Daily | Free trial offered | Daily tracking, unlimited users |
| Promptwatch | $95/mo | 50 (6,000 responses) | All models | Daily | 7 days | Every model plus API and MCP |
| Otterly | $29/mo, $25 annual | 15 | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot | Daily | Free trial offered | Lowest monthly bill |
| SE Visible | $89/mo, $71 annual | 75 | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot | Daily | 10 days | Client access, 5 projects |
| Rankscale | Pro $99/mo, $84 annual | 1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers | 17+ engines | Hourly to monthly | Pro free trial | Pay-per-answer flexibility |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Included on Lite ($129); index from $199/mo | 5 on Lite | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot; Claude for custom prompts | Daily, weekly or monthly | No free trials | AI data inside an SEO suite |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | $99/mo | 25 | ChatGPT, AI Mode, Gemini | Daily prompt tracking | No free trial | Semrush users |
| Scrunch | $250/mo | 125 | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AIO, Copilot | Not stated on pricing page | 7 days | Site audits and bot traffic |
| AthenaHQ | Free tier; Starter $295/mo | Unlimited prompts, 3,600 credits | 11 models | Not stated on pricing page | Free Essential tier | Many engines plus actions |
| Profound | Free trial, then custom | 50 (trial) | ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews (trial) | Daily for 7 days (trial) | Free trial | Enterprise programs |
"Engines on entry plan" means what the cheapest paid plan includes. Several tools add engines on higher plans or as paid add-ons.
What does LLMrefs actually offer and cost?
LLMrefs lists a single All in One plan at $79 a month, labelled "limited time only", with a 7-day free trial. It covers 500 prompts for brand mentions, sources and fan-out queries, every AI engine it supports with no extra fees, unlimited projects and team members, CSV export and API access. Reports refresh weekly.
| LLMrefs plan detail | What the pricing section lists |
|---|---|
| Price | $79 a month, "limited time only" |
| Trial | 7-day free trial, cancel anytime |
| Prompts | 500, covering brand mentions, sources and fan-out queries |
| Engines | All AI search engines with no additional fees |
| Refresh | Weekly AI visibility reports; every keyword updated at least once a week |
| Countries and languages | Geo-targeting in 50+ countries and 20+ languages |
| Team and projects | Unlimited team members, unlimited projects |
| Data | CSV export and API access; monthly AI prompt volume estimates |
| Extras | AI crawlability checker, Reddit threads finder, LLMs.txt generator |
The engine list in the LLMrefs FAQ is ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok, Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek. The model is keyword-first: you enter SEO keywords, and LLMrefs generates the fan-out prompts behind each one "based on real conversations", then aggregates share of voice, position and citations per keyword. The homepage also offers a free account with no credit card required.
Why do teams look for an LLMrefs alternative?
LLMrefs is broad and cheap, so the reasons to leave are specific: weekly refresh instead of daily, a keyword layer between you and the exact prompts, an introductory price that may not hold, and no published workflow that turns a gap into a page. A team that reports daily or publishes against every gap needs something else.
- Weekly, not daily. The pricing section lists weekly reports, and the FAQ says every keyword is updated in the dashboard at least once per week. Peec AI, Promptwatch, Otterly and SE Visible all list daily tracking on their entry plans.
- Keywords, not your exact prompts. LLMrefs says "you track keywords, not prompts" and generates the prompts itself. That suits SEO teams. It suits less well a team that wants to track the exact sentence a buyer types, word for word.
- The price is promotional. The $79 plan carries a "limited time only" label. Budget for a change at renewal.
- Tracking stops at the report. The pricing section lists tracking, citations, prompt volumes and free tools. It does not list content briefs, drafting or publishing to a CMS.
- Reddit is a tool, not a tracked engine. LLMrefs includes a Reddit threads finder. Reddit is not in its list of tracked engines.
Which LLMrefs alternative fits which use case?
Match the alternative to the reason you are leaving. For daily data, Peec AI, Promptwatch, Otterly or SE Visible. For more engines and flexible volume, Rankscale or AthenaHQ. For AI data next to SEO data, Ahrefs or Semrush. For opportunities with briefs, drafts sent to your CMS and Reddit threads, Mentionova.
Is Mentionova the right alternative if you want the gaps turned into work?
Mentionova Starter is $125 a month, or $99 billed annually, for 25 tracked prompts on ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google, with 100 agentic tasks. Scale is $400 ($320 annual) for 100 prompts on six engines, adding Claude, Gemini and Reddit. Every plan lists actionable opportunities with ready briefs, workflows and grids for bulk content, Reddit engagement and integrations. Finished drafts push to WordPress, Webflow, Ghost, Sanity or a webhook, and every target creates a draft, never a live post. The Reddit tab lists the threads your engines cite and drafts a reply for a person to post. Agency plans start with Launch at $250 a month ($200 annual) for 50 prompts and 3 client workspaces, with white-label reports. The trial needs no card.
Is Peec AI the simplest daily tracker?
Peec AI Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts tracked daily on 3 models you choose from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, which Peec counts as 4,500 AI answers a month. Users and competitors are unlimited on every plan. Pro is $245 for 150 prompts and 2 projects. See Peec AI alternatives.
Is Promptwatch the closest match on engine coverage?
Promptwatch Essential is $95 a month for 1 project, 50 prompts and 6,000 responses, tracking all models, with Agent Chat, country-level tracking and MCP and API access. Content writing and refresh start on Professional at $245. Promptwatch says it collects data by scraping the assistants' user interfaces. Our Promptwatch alternatives post covers it in full.
Is Otterly the cheapest way to get daily data?
Otterly Lite is $29 a month, or $25 billed annually, for 15 prompts on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, tracked daily, with unlimited team members and 1 workspace. Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are add-ons. Standard ($189) moves to 100 prompts and unlimited workspaces and adds API and MCP access.
Is SE Visible better if clients need their own access?
SE Visible, from SE Ranking, is $89 a month ($71 annual) for 75 prompts, 5 projects, 1 location per project and unlimited user seats, tracked daily on ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini and Copilot, with client access, API and MCP. Agency is $399 ($319 annual) for 1,000 prompts and 30 projects. There is a 10-day free trial.
Is Rankscale right if you want pay-per-answer flexibility?
Rankscale sells credits, not prompts. Pro is $99 a month or $84 annual for 1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers, 10 brand dashboards and 50 page audits, across 17+ engines scheduled hourly to monthly. Pro has a free trial. Growth ($385) adds white-label options for agencies.
Should SEO teams use Ahrefs or Semrush instead?
Ahrefs includes 5 daily custom prompts on Lite ($129), and its AI Visibility Index starts at $199 a month; Ahrefs says it runs no free trials. Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit is $99 a month for 25 prompts, with no free trial. Both make sense if the suite is already paid for. See our Ahrefs, Semrush and dedicated platform comparison.
Are Scrunch, AthenaHQ or Profound better for larger programs?
Scrunch Core is $250 a month for 125 prompts and 5,000 responses on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AIO and Copilot, with 5 site audits a month and a 7-day trial. AthenaHQ has a free Essential tier with 300 credits, then Starter at $295 for 3,600 credits across 11 models. Profound offers a free trial with 50 prompts run daily for 7 days, then custom Enterprise pricing with up to 9 answer engines.
What is the cheapest LLMrefs alternative per tracked prompt?
None of the ten beats LLMrefs. At $79 for 500 prompts, it costs $0.16 per prompt. SE Visible is the next cheapest at $1.19, then Peec AI and Promptwatch at $1.90 and Otterly at $1.93. Mentionova is the most expensive per prompt at $5.00. All figures are our arithmetic from monthly list prices.
| Tool | Entry plan, monthly billing | Prompts | Price per prompt (calculated) |
|---|---|---|---|
| LLMrefs All in One | $79 | 500 | $0.16 |
| SE Visible Basic | $89 | 75 | $1.19 |
| Promptwatch Essential | $95 | 50 | $1.90 |
| Peec AI Starter | $95 | 50 | $1.90 |
| Otterly Lite | $29 | 15 | $1.93 |
| Scrunch Core | $250 | 125 | $2.00 |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | $99 | 25 | $3.96 |
| Mentionova Starter | $125 | 25 | $5.00 |
Price per prompt ignores cadence, engine count and anything beyond tracking. For every vendor's price in one table, see AI visibility tool pricing.
How do you choose between LLMrefs and an alternative?
Stay on LLMrefs if weekly, keyword-level share of voice across every engine is the deliverable and price matters most. Move to a daily tracker if leadership asks what changed yesterday. Move to Mentionova if the problem is not measuring the gap but closing it: briefs, drafts and Reddit replies.
A quick decision path:
- You want the most prompts for the least money. Stay on LLMrefs. Nothing on this list is close per prompt.
- You need daily numbers on a few dozen prompts. Peec AI or Promptwatch ($95), or Otterly ($29) for 15 prompts.
- Clients need their own access. SE Visible ($89, client access, 5 projects) or Rankscale Growth for white-label dashboards.
- The team already lives in an SEO suite. Ahrefs Lite includes 5 prompts; Semrush's toolkit is $99 for 25.
- You keep finding gaps and nobody fixes them. Mentionova: each gap comes with a brief, drafts land in your CMS as drafts, and the Reddit threads AI cites are queued with a drafted reply.
Test it on your own prompts before you pay: free trial, no card. Keep LLMrefs running and compare.
Where does Mentionova lose to LLMrefs?
Mentionova loses on prompts per dollar, engine count, seats and prompt volume data. LLMrefs tracks 500 prompts on every major engine for $79 with unlimited team members; Mentionova Starter tracks 25 prompts on three engines for $125 with 3 seats. Mentionova also does not track AI Mode, Copilot or Grok. Know these gaps before you trial it.
- Prompts per dollar. $79 for 500 prompts against $125 for 25. Even Mentionova Enterprise ($999 monthly) tracks 250.
- Engines. LLMrefs lists ten engines including AI Mode, Grok, Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek. Mentionova covers ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google on three-engine plans and adds Claude, Gemini and Reddit on six-engine plans. It does not track the others.
- Seats. LLMrefs includes unlimited team members. Every Mentionova plan includes 3 team seats.
- Projects. LLMrefs includes unlimited projects. Mentionova brand plans have 1 workspace; agency plans have 3, 10 or 50 client workspaces.
- Countries. LLMrefs geo-targets 50+ countries and 20+ languages. Mentionova's pricing page lists no per-country tracking.
- Cadence. Both default to weekly. Mentionova's scheduled runs are weekly, every two weeks or monthly, with daily runs through the API. Neither matches the daily trackers above.
How do you check whether AI engines mention your brand before switching?
Run the same buyer prompts in both tools for at least two weeks and compare mention rate per engine, not the headline score. AI answers change between runs, so one snapshot tells you little. Start with five unbranded prompts a buyer types before choosing a vendor, then add comparison and pricing questions.
- Export what you have. LLMrefs includes CSV export and API access, so pull your data before renewal.
- Turn keywords into exact prompts. LLMrefs works from keywords. For a fair test, write the five buyer questions word for word and load them into both tools.
- Compare like with like. Compare only engines both tools track: ChatGPT and Perplexity, plus Claude and Gemini on Mentionova's six-engine plans.
- Ask why competitors are cited. When ChatGPT names a competitor instead of you, open the sources it cites. Those pages and threads are where the fix starts.
- Judge the action, not the chart. For your biggest gap, time how long each tool takes to get you to a page update, a source to pitch or a reply to post.
For building the prompt list, use the method in How to check if ChatGPT mentions your brand.
Where does each number come from?
All vendor pages were read on 1 November 2026.
- LLMrefs: llmrefs.com and its pricing section (plan price and "limited time only" label, 500 prompts, engines, weekly reports, 50+ countries and 20+ languages, unlimited team members and projects, CSV and API, 7-day trial, free account, FAQ on refresh and engines).
- Peec AI pricing, Promptwatch pricing, Otterly pricing, SE Visible pricing, Rankscale pricing, Scrunch pricing, AthenaHQ plans, Profound pricing.
- Ahrefs: ahrefs.com/pricing and ahrefs.com/brand-radar. Semrush: AI Visibility Toolkit knowledge base (price, limits, no trial) and semrush.com/prices.
- Mentionova: mentionova.com/pricing (brand plans, engines, Reddit, trial), plans overview (agency plans, seats, engine sets, weekly scans), AI visibility tracking (run schedules), publishing targets (CMS drafts) and agency reporting (white-label reports).
- Price per prompt is our arithmetic from monthly list prices.
What do people ask about LLMrefs alternatives?
What is LLMrefs?
LLMrefs is an AI search analytics tool that tracks how brands appear in ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok, Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek. You enter SEO keywords; it generates the prompts, then reports share of voice, position and cited sources per keyword.
How much does LLMrefs cost?
LLMrefs lists one All in One plan at $79 a month, labelled "limited time only", for 500 prompts on every supported engine with unlimited projects and team members. The FAQ says more keywords can be added by upgrading.
Does LLMrefs have a free trial?
Yes. The plan starts with a 7-day free trial, and the homepage offers a free account with no credit card required.
How often does LLMrefs refresh data?
The pricing section lists weekly AI visibility reports, and the FAQ says every keyword is updated in the dashboard at least once per week. If you need daily data, Peec AI, Promptwatch, Otterly and SE Visible list daily tracking on their entry plans.
What is the cheapest LLMrefs alternative?
Otterly Lite at $29 a month, or $25 billed annually, for 15 daily prompts on four engines is the lowest monthly bill. AthenaHQ has a free tier with 300 credits. Per prompt, LLMrefs itself is cheaper than every alternative listed here.
Is there an LLMrefs alternative that writes the content?
Mentionova turns each gap into an opportunity with a brief and pushes finished drafts to WordPress, Webflow, Ghost, Sanity or a webhook. Promptwatch adds content writing and refresh on Professional ($245). Scrunch Core includes basic content generation.
Is Mentionova better than LLMrefs?
It depends on the job. LLMrefs wins on prompts per dollar, engine count, seats and countries. Mentionova wins if you want opportunities with ready briefs, drafts sent to your CMS, Reddit threads with drafted replies and a trial you can start without a card.
Run the same prompts side by side. Start the free Mentionova trial, no card.