Promptwatch is one of the strongest self-serve AI visibility platforms: $95 a month for 50 prompts tracked daily, every model on every plan, and API and MCP access from the entry tier. Teams still look elsewhere, usually for a lower price, a simpler tool or more prompts per dollar. Below are ten alternatives, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page on 30 October 2026. We make Mentionova, one of the ten, so we say where it loses.
What are the key takeaways?
- Promptwatch Essential is $95 a month for 1 project, 50 prompts and 6,000 responses, with every model, Agent Chat, and MCP and API access. Content writing and refresh start on Professional at $245.
- Peec AI is the closest like-for-like swap at the same $95: 50 prompts tracked daily on 3 models you choose, with unlimited users and competitors. Its API starts on Pro ($245).
- Otterly is the cheapest monthly plan at $29 ($25 billed annually) for 15 prompts on four engines. Rankscale Essentials is $17 a month, on a yearly plan only.
- SE Visible gives the most prompts under $100: 75 prompts, 5 projects and unlimited seats for $89 a month ($71 billed annually).
- Mentionova costs more per prompt and runs weekly, not daily. Starter is $125 a month ($99 annual) for 25 prompts on three engines. It fits teams that want each gap scored, briefed and drafted into their CMS.
What are the best Promptwatch alternatives for AI visibility?
The strongest alternatives are Peec AI for like-for-like daily tracking at $95, Otterly and Rankscale for small budgets, SE Visible for prompts per dollar, AthenaHQ and Scrunch for broader platforms, Gauge and Writesonic for built-in article production, Profound for enterprise, and Mentionova for scored briefs and CMS drafts. Prices were read on 30 October 2026.
| Tool | Entry price (as listed) | Prompts on entry plan | Engines on entry plan | Cadence | Trial (as listed) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promptwatch (baseline) | $95/mo | 50 (6,000 responses) | All models | Daily | 7 days | Every model, API and MCP on the entry plan |
| Peec AI | $95/mo | 50 | 3 chosen from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini, Naver AI | Daily | Not on pricing page | Clean daily tracking, unlimited users |
| Otterly | $29/mo, $25 annual | 15 | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot | Daily | Free trial (pricing FAQ) | Lowest monthly price |
| SE Visible | $89/mo, $71 annual | 75 | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode | Daily | 10 days | Most prompts under $100 |
| Rankscale | $17/mo (yearly only); Pro $99, $84 annual | Credit-based | 17+ engines | Hourly to monthly | Pro free trial | Pay-per-answer flexibility |
| AthenaHQ | Free tier; Starter $295/mo | Unlimited prompts, 3,600 responses | 11 models | Not stated | Free Essential tier | Many engines plus actions |
| Scrunch | $250/mo | 125 | ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Copilot | Not stated | Not on pricing page | Site audits and bot traffic |
| Gauge | $599/mo | 600 | ChatGPT, AI Mode, Copilot | Daily | Not on pricing page | Daily volume plus 18 articles a month |
| Writesonic | $79/mo billed annually | 50 | ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews | Daily | Free start, no card | SEO, content and GEO in one tool |
| Profound | Free 7-day trial, then custom | 50 (trial) | ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews (trial) | Daily | 7 days | Enterprise programs |
| Mentionova | $125/mo, $99 annual | 25 | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google | Weekly, fortnightly or monthly | 14 days, no card, 6 engines | Gaps turned into briefs and CMS drafts |
"Engines on entry plan" means what the cheapest paid plan includes, not everything the vendor can track. Several tools add engines on higher plans or as paid add-ons.
Why do teams look for a Promptwatch alternative?
Promptwatch's entry plan is generous, so the reasons to leave are specific: price, because content writing starts at $245 and hourly tracking at $579; complexity, because one platform covers tracking, crawler logs, content agents and shopping; and capacity, because Essential allows one project and 50 prompts. Each reason points to a different alternative.
- The content layer sits on higher plans. Essential includes Agent Chat. Content writing and refresh, the knowledge base and agent analytics start on Professional ($245 a month, 2 projects, 150 prompts). State and city tracking, shopping insights, Ads Radar, fact check and up to hourly tracking are on Business ($579, 5 projects, 350 prompts), which is sold through a demo.
- Breadth you may not use. The feature table names 14 models and assistants, including Amazon Alexa, Codex, OpenCode and Claude Code, plus crawler logs, conversion tracking and CMS publishing to WordPress, Webflow and Framer. A team that only reports mention rate pays for depth it leaves untouched.
- Usability. In a September 2025 r/SEO thread, a user who tested both wrote that Peec "is easier to use" while Promptwatch "is more advanced" but its "UX is more complicated." That is one user's view, but it matches the scope of the feature list.
- One project on Essential. Agencies and multi-brand teams hit the 1-project limit first. Professional allows 2 projects and Business allows 5.
What does Promptwatch include on each plan?
Promptwatch sells three plans with published monthly prices and a custom Enterprise plan. Every plan tracks all models, includes Agent Chat and country-level tracking, and comes with MCP and API access. The differences are projects, prompts, responses and the content and analytics features. These figures were read from promptwatch.com/pricing on 30 October 2026.
| Promptwatch plan | Monthly price | Projects | Prompts | Responses a month | Main additions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential | $95 | 1 | 50 | 6,000 | All models, Agent Chat, country tracking, MCP and API |
| Professional | $245 | 2 | 150 | 18,000 | Content writing and refresh, knowledge base, agent analytics |
| Business | $579 (demo) | 5 | 350 | 42,000 | Up to hourly tracking, state and city tracking, shopping insights, Ads Radar, fact check, audit logs |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom | SSO, managed content workflows, dedicated success manager |
Essential and Professional carry a 7-day free trial. Promptwatch says it collects data by scraping the user interfaces of the assistants, which is closer to what a buyer sees than an API call. Its agency page lists a white-label dashboard, API and MCP servers and a Data Studio connector.
Which Promptwatch alternatives fit which use case?
Match the alternative to the gap you are leaving with. For the same job at the same price, Peec AI. For a lower bill, Otterly, Rankscale or SE Visible. For more engines and actions, AthenaHQ. For articles bundled with tracking, Gauge or Writesonic. For enterprise procurement, Profound or Scrunch. For gaps turned into briefs and drafts, Mentionova.
Is Peec AI the closest like-for-like swap?
Peec AI Starter is $95 a month for 50 prompts tracked daily on 3 active models, chosen from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI. Peec calculates that as 4,500 AI answers a month. Users and competitors are unlimited on every plan, MCP is included, and gap analysis, recommended actions and agent actions are listed on every tier. The API starts on Pro ($245, 150 prompts). Perplexity and the API models, including Claude, Grok and DeepSeek, are on Enterprise. Our full list is in Peec AI alternatives.
Is Otterly the cheapest way to keep tracking?
Otterly Lite is $29 a month, or $25 billed annually, for 15 prompts on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, tracked daily with unlimited team members. Google AI Mode and Gemini are $9 add-ons on Lite and Claude is $29. Standard ($189) moves you to 100 prompts and adds API, MCP and agent analytics. Otterly's pricing page lists no article writing. See Otterly alternatives if you are weighing it.
Is SE Visible better if you need more prompts per dollar?
SE Visible, from SE Ranking, is $89 a month ($71 billed annually) for 75 prompts, 5 projects, 1 location per project and unlimited user seats, with daily tracking, API and MCP. It checks ChatGPT, AI Overviews and AI Mode by scraping the user interface. Core is $189 ($151 annual) for 200 prompts and unlimited locations. Clients can get their own login. There is a 10-day free trial.
Is Rankscale right for pay-as-you-go tracking?
Rankscale sells credits, not prompts. Essentials is $17 a month on a yearly plan for 120 credits, up to 480 answers. Pro is $99 monthly or $84 annual for 1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers, and has a free trial. A query typically costs 0.25 credits per engine per prompt across 17+ engines, scheduled hourly to monthly. White-label dashboard links start on Growth ($385).
Is AthenaHQ worth $295 for more engines and actions?
AthenaHQ has a free Essential tier with 300 credits, then Starter at $295 a month for 3,600 credits, where 1 credit is 1 AI response. Starter covers 11 models, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot and Grok, with unlimited topics and prompts, on-page and off-page actions and a content optimization agent. API access and extra credits are paid add-ons.
Is Scrunch a fit for site audits and bot traffic?
Scrunch Core is $250 a month for 125 prompts, 5,000 responses, 5 site audits, 5 competitors and 5 user licenses across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot. It includes AI agent and bot traffic, sentiment and one page optimization a month. Nine models, API access and its Agent Experience Platform are on Enterprise.
Is Gauge worth $599 for daily volume and articles?
Gauge has one self-serve plan. Growth is $599 a month for 600 prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Microsoft Copilot, which Gauge counts as 54,000 answers a month, plus 18 publish-ready articles, 3 seats and MCP. AI Overviews, Gemini and Perplexity are Enterprise only. Claude and Grok need your own provider API key.
Is Writesonic a fit if you want SEO and AI visibility in one tool?
Writesonic Starter is $79 a month billed annually for 50 prompts tracked daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with 15 AI articles and 10 site audits. Perplexity and Claude are Enterprise only, and the full Action Center is Enterprise. Our breakdown is in Writesonic alternatives.
Is Profound an option without a sales call?
Only as a trial. Profound's pricing page lists a free 7-day trial with 50 recommended prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews; trial users cannot customize their prompts. Ongoing tracking, custom prompts and up to 9 answer engines are on Enterprise at a custom price.
Where does Mentionova fit as a Promptwatch alternative?
Mentionova Starter is $125 a month ($99 annual) for 25 prompts on ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google, with 100 agentic tasks. Scale ($400, or $320 annual) covers 100 prompts on six engines, adding Claude, Gemini and Reddit. Opportunities are rescored nightly on a 0 to 100 scale, each with a brief, and drafts go to WordPress, Webflow, Ghost, Sanity or a webhook. Nothing publishes without you.
What is the most affordable Promptwatch alternative for small businesses?
Otterly is the cheapest monthly plan at $29 for 15 prompts on four engines. Rankscale is cheaper at $17 a month, but only on a yearly plan. Per tracked prompt, Gauge and SE Visible are cheapest, though Gauge starts at $599. Price per prompt, calculated from monthly list prices, runs from $1.00 to $5.00.
| Tool | Entry plan, monthly billing | Prompts | Price per prompt (calculated) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gauge Growth | $599 | 600 | $1.00 |
| SE Visible Basic | $89 | 75 | $1.19 |
| Promptwatch Essential | $95 | 50 | $1.90 |
| Peec AI Starter | $95 | 50 | $1.90 |
| Otterly Lite | $29 | 15 | $1.93 |
| Scrunch Core | $250 | 125 | $2.00 |
| Mentionova Starter | $125 | 25 | $5.00 |
Price per prompt is a blunt number. It ignores how many engines each prompt runs on, how often it runs and what you get beyond tracking. Mentionova is the most expensive per prompt here and runs weekly; it is priced for the work after tracking, not for more answers. For every platform's price in one table, see AI visibility tool pricing.
Should you choose a tracker or an all-in-one platform?
Choose a tracker if the output is a report someone else acts on: Otterly, Peec AI, SE Visible and Rankscale do this well and cheaply. Choose a platform if you want gaps turned into work: Promptwatch Professional, Gauge, Writesonic, AthenaHQ and Mentionova all brief or draft content. Then check which engines your buyers actually use.
A quick decision path:
- You only need numbers for a monthly report. Otterly ($29) or SE Visible ($89). Both track daily.
- You want the same daily tracking with unlimited users. Peec AI ($95).
- You need Claude and Perplexity without Enterprise pricing. Stay on Promptwatch, or look at AthenaHQ ($295, 11 models) or Mentionova Scale ($400, six engines including Reddit).
- You want the most daily answers and bundled articles. Gauge ($599 for 600 daily prompts and 18 articles).
- You want each gap scored, briefed and drafted into your CMS. Mentionova.
Where does Mentionova lose to Promptwatch?
Mentionova loses on run frequency, prompts per dollar, engine count and analytics depth. Promptwatch tracks daily; Mentionova runs weekly, fortnightly or monthly. Promptwatch Essential has 50 prompts on every model for $95; Mentionova Starter has 25 prompts on three engines for $125. Promptwatch also ingests crawler logs. Know these before you trial it.
- Cadence. Mentionova does not offer daily runs. Scans refresh weekly by default. Opportunities are rescored nightly, but prompts are not rerun nightly.
- Prompts per dollar. $95 for 50 prompts against $125 for 25.
- Engines. Promptwatch tracks every model on every plan, including AI Overviews, AI Mode, Copilot, DeepSeek and Mistral. Mentionova's Google engine records the organic top ten; AI Overviews, AI Mode, Copilot and Grok are not tracked. Starter covers three engines; Claude, Gemini and Reddit need Scale.
- API on the entry plan. Promptwatch includes API and MCP on Essential. Mentionova's API starts on Scale.
- Crawler logs and location depth. Promptwatch ingests crawler logs and offers state and city tracking on Business. Mentionova attributes AI traffic to pages but does not ingest crawler logs.
If daily data or AI Overviews tracking is the requirement, stay on Promptwatch or pick Peec AI or SE Visible.
How do you switch from Promptwatch without losing your baseline?
Export your prompt list and current visibility data first, then run the same prompts in the new tool for at least two weeks before you cancel. AI answers vary from run to run, so a single week of overlap tells you little. Compare mention rate per engine and the sources cited, not the headline score.
- Export. Pull your prompts, scores and cited sources through Promptwatch's API or Data Studio connector, both listed on its plans.
- Keep the prompts identical. Paste the same list into the new tool. Mentionova's API and MCP server can create prompts in bulk; the trial covers 5.
- Overlap for 14 days. Promptwatch's trial is 7 days and Mentionova's is 14, so plan the overlap around your renewal date.
- Compare like with like. Compare only the engines both tools track, such as ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Gemini.
- Judge the action, not the chart. For your biggest gap, time how long each tool takes to get you to a page update, a source to pitch or a draft.
For building the prompt list, use the method in How to check if ChatGPT mentions your brand.
Where does each number come from?
All vendor pages were read on 30 October 2026.
- Promptwatch: promptwatch.com/pricing (plans, monthly prices, projects, prompts, responses, models, trial, data collection FAQ); promptwatch.com/solutions/agencies (white-label dashboard, API, MCP, Data Studio).
- Peec AI: peec.ai/pricing. Otterly: otterly.ai/pricing. SE Visible: visible.seranking.com/pricing. Rankscale: rankscale.ai/pricing. AthenaHQ: athenahq.ai/pricing. Scrunch: scrunch.com/pricing. Gauge: withgauge.com/pricing. Writesonic: writesonic.com/pricing. Profound: tryprofound.com/pricing.
- Mentionova: mentionova.com/pricing, mentionova.com/docs/billing/plans-overview and mentionova.com/compare/promptwatch (trial terms, cadence, engines, briefs and CMS drafts).
- Reddit quote: r/SEO thread linked above.
- Price per prompt is our arithmetic from monthly list prices.
What do people ask about Promptwatch alternatives?
Is Promptwatch good for AI visibility tracking?
Yes. Essential tracks every model daily for $95 a month, with 50 prompts, 6,000 responses, and API and MCP access. It is a strong fit for teams that want broad engine coverage and crawler data. It is weaker if you need more than one project or content writing on the entry plan.
How much does Promptwatch cost?
Essential is $95 a month, Professional is $245 and Business is $579. Enterprise is custom. Essential and Professional include a 7-day free trial. Prices were read from promptwatch.com/pricing on 30 October 2026.
Which AI models does Promptwatch track?
Its pricing page says every plan tracks all models. The feature table lists ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, DeepSeek, Mistral, Amazon Alexa, Codex, OpenCode and Claude Code.
What is the cheapest Promptwatch alternative?
Otterly Lite at $29 a month, or $25 billed annually, for 15 prompts on four engines is the cheapest monthly plan we found. Rankscale Essentials is $17 a month on a yearly plan only. AthenaHQ has a free tier with 300 credits.
Is Peec AI better than Promptwatch?
Neither is better outright. Both start at $95 for 50 daily prompts. Peec lets you pick 3 models and includes unlimited users; Promptwatch tracks every model and adds API access on the entry plan. Our Peec AI vs Profound comparison covers Peec in more depth.
Is there a free Promptwatch alternative?
AthenaHQ's Essential tier is free with 300 credits. Profound offers a free 7-day trial with fixed prompts. Mentionova's 14-day trial needs no card and covers 5 prompts on all six engines.
Is Mentionova better than Promptwatch?
It depends on the job. Promptwatch wins on daily tracking, engine count, prompts per dollar and crawler logs. Mentionova wins if you want Reddit tracked with drafted replies, a 42-check site audit and every gap scored with a brief and a CMS draft.
Run the same prompts side by side. Start the 14-day Mentionova trial, no card.